The Lycetts Grantham Cup

The Lycetts Grantham Cup

Established in 2006, the role of the Grantham Cup was to create a Spring Class which would be the perfect pre-run for riders. Belton is to Badminton as Queens is to Wimbledon, and esteemed riders come from far and wide to prepare for the worldwide Grand Slams. Stars battle it out to win the prestigious Grantham Cup and have their first slice of victory in the eventing season.

Who’ll run away with the prize this year? Find out at Belton International Horse Trials - The Equestrian Festival for Families.

We are very pleased that Lycetts are continuing as the sponsor of the Grantham Cup. Lycetts has increased its commitment to the Belton International Horse Trials. Extending its continued sponsorship of the CIC*** Grantham Cup, the firm has this year become the title sponsor for the three day event’s final day, sponsoring all classes on Sunday 15th April.

Previous winners
Izzy Taylor, KBIS Starburst
Great Britain
Izzy Taylor became the first Brit to win the Grantham Cup since Sarah Cohen in 2012. At last year’s event, she narrowly pipped 2014’s winner Mark Todd to the post. KBIS Starburst had had around two years way from competing before the win, and after a fantastic return performance secured not only the Cup but the fastest cross country time of the day.

Christopher Burton, Nobilis 18
Christopher was the third Australian to get his hands on the cup with his 2016 win. An impressive performance secured the win for Burton and 10-year-old Nobilis 18, rounding off an excellent weekend of eventing for the pair. Their year went from strength to strength after Belton and they finished 2016 in third place in the world rankings.

Clark Montgomery, Loughan Glen
After an early dressage performance earned them an admirable score, there weren’t many others who could have pushed past Clark and Loughan Glen in the rankings. Impressive show-jumping and cross country performances catapulted them ahead of closest competitor Bill Levett to win the Cup in 2015.

Past winners
2014 Winner Mark Todd Leonidas New Zealand
2013 Winner Vittoria Panizzon Borough Pennyz Italy
2012 Winner Sarah Cohen Treason Great Britain
2011 Winner Oliver Townend Ashdale Cruise Great Britain
2010 Winner Sam Griffiths Happy Times Australia
2009 Winner Emily Baldwin Drivetime Great Britain
2008 Winner Paul Tapner Inonothing Australia
2007 Winner Vittoria Panizzon Rock Model Italy
2006 Winner Ruth Edge Two Thyme Great Britain